Review: The Darkest Minds

10576365

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I wasn’t sure that I was going to like The Darkest Minds as the book started off slowly, at least for me. However, in a very short period of time I became emotionally invested in ensuring that Ruby survived. Invested in ensuring that Liam, Chubbs and Suzume all escaped the shackles they found themselves under and not just lived, but thrived.

Safety, however, is not something that can easily be found. And being able to care about those around you? Harder still. The Darkest Minds follows Ruby as she struggles to make sense of the world around her and the powers that she possesses.

I must admit that I was initially not a big fan of the ending. I mean, girl-meets-boy, girl-loses-boy, girl-gets-boy, is the normal swing of a book. Not for [a:Alexandra Bracken|2973783|Alexandra Bracken|https://d.gr-assets.com/authors/1411581389p2/2973783.jpg] as she decides that she wants to play with you and your emotions. While it makes sense what happened, it is most definitely not what I was expecting nor what I wanted.

The Darkest Minds is an excellent book by a woman whose career looks very bright.

Published by

Donald

IT Philosopher and budding author.

Leave a Reply

